England vs. New Zealand score, updates, highlights from 3rd Test at Headingley

England enjoyed a strong start to the third Test with New Zealand at Headingley.

The tourists were 65/3 at lunch after winning the toss and choosing to bat, with Tom Latham out for a duck in a superb opening over from Stuart Broad.

Jack Leach trapped Will Young (20) lbw and captain Kane Williamson edged Broad to Ben Foakes after a knock of 31 from 64 deliveries.

The Sporting News is following the Test and providing score updates, commentary and analysis below.

England vs. New Zealand 3rd Test live score

  1st innings  2nd innings
England
New Zealand 118/4 (50 ov.)

New Zealand won the toss and chose to bat first

England vs. New Zealand updates, highlights and analysis from Day 1 of the 3rd Test at Headingley, morning session

It was bold of New Zealand to elect to bat first after they were chased down so spectacularly in the second Test. Today’s first session suggested it wasn’t the smart choice.

With James Anderson not involved, it was Broad, his fellow elder statesmen of the England attack, who delivered a brilliant start for the hosts in the Yorkshire sunshine.

Five dot balls and a wicket in the opening over against the top-ranked Test side in the world was a nigh-on perfect example of the confidence with which England are playing right now.

It was also an inspiring sight for debutant Jamie Overton, who gave up 17 runs from five overs in a highly respectable morning session.

England vs. New Zealand lineups

Jamie Overton, who was preferred to twin brother Craig for a place in the side, is the only alteration to the England XI, with head coach Brendon McCullum seemingly leaving behind the rotation tactics that were employed with mixed results by predecessor Chris Silverwood.

England XI: Lees, Crawley, Pope, Root, Bairstow, Stokes (c), Foakes (w), Overton, Potts, Broad, Leach

Kane Williamson was not the only New Zealand player to contract coronavirus. Devon Conway and Michael Bracewell have undergone five-day isolation periods since the Trent Bridge Test but both are fit to play. Veteran left-arm paceman Neil Wagner replaces Jamieson.

New Zealand projected XI: Latham, Young, Williamson (c), Conway, Nicholls, Mitchell, Blundell (w), Bracewell, Southee, Wagner, Boult

MORE: What is the highest ODI cricket score of all time? Jos Buttler inspires England to record total against the Netherlands

How to watch England vs. New Zealand: TV channel and live streaming details

  UK New Zealand India Australia USA & Canada
Date June 23-27 June 23-28 June 23-27 June 23-28 June 23-27
Time 11 a.m. BST 10 p.m. NZST 3:30 p.m. IST 8 p.m. AEST 6 a.m. ET
TV channel Sky Sports Sky Sport Sony Sports Network Fox Cricket
Streaming Sky Go Sky Go, Sky Sport Now Sony LIV Kayo Sports Willow TV

UK: Sky Sports will show the series in the UK on its Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sport Cricket channels. Subscribers can also watch online via the Sky Sports website or through the Sky Go app.

New Zealand: Pay TV channel Sky Sport will show the action in New Zealand. Subscribers can stream on Sky Go, while non-subscribers can try the Sky Sport Now streaming-only platform.

India: The Sony Sports Network has the rights to the tour, with Sony Ten 2 and Ten 2 HD showing the Test. England vs. New Zealand can also be streamed on Sony Liv.

Australia: The Fox Cricket Channel on Foxtel will show England vs. New Zealand in Australia. Fans who are not Fox customers can sign up for the Kayo Sports streaming service.

USA & Canada: Willow TV will show the action in the USA. A dedicated cricket streaming service, it is also available in Canada and can be sourced from a number of cable providers including Dish, Spectrum and Xfinity.

Facebook Comments Box