What channel is the NHL Draft Lottery on? Time, TV channels, streams for No. 1 draft pick drawing

Bill Daly, the NHL’s deputy commissioner and chief legal officer, will be taking center stage for the NHL Draft Lottery tonight. 

The annual event is the prequel to the NHL Draft. Before a draft can take place, an order must be determined, and that’s the purpose of the NHL Draft Lottery. 

With the new lottery rules, there are 11 teams that can potentially earn the top selection, which can greatly help a franchise. If you look at some of today’s top stars, such as Alex Ovechkin, Sidney Crosby, Nathan MacKinnon, Connor McDavid, and Auston Matthews, who were all selected No. 1 overall.

Here is everything you need to know about the NHL Draft Lottery. 

NHL Mock Draft 2022: Canadiens take Shane Wright with No. 1 pick

When is the 2022 NHL Draft Lottery?

  • Date: May 10
  • Start time: 6:30 p.m. ET

The 2022 NHL Draft Lottery will take place on Tuesday, May 10. It will be conducted remotely with NHL GMs and front office personnel in their home cities. 

The NHL Draft is set for July 7-8 in Montreal at the Bell Centre. 

How to watch the 2022 NHL Draft Lottery?

  • TV channel: ESPN (U.S.), Sportsnet, TVA Sports (Canada)
  • Stream: ESPN+, SN NOW

Viewers in the United States can watch the lottery drawings live on ESPN or stream it on ESPN+. 

The Canadian audience can watch the event on Sportsnet or TVA Sports, or they can stream it on SN NOW. 

How does the NHL Draft Lottery work?

The 16 teams that do not make the playoffs are assigned an odds percentage that is based on where they finished in the standings. The lower the team finishes, the higher their odds are at the top pick. 

The NHL implemented a few new changes to the rules of the lottery last season. 

There will be two draws, one for the No. 1 pick and one for No. 2. After that, the order will go based on where teams finished the season. This is a change from three drawings for the top-three picks, which was the NHL’s system in the past. 

One of the two new rules that will be implemented in this draft is that teams will be restricted from moving up more than 10 spots if it wins one of the lottery draws. So, whichever teams that are slotted between Nos. 12-16 cannot get the No. 1 pick. 

The other change is that teams cannot win the lottery more than twice in a five-year span. Any wins in the lottery prior to 2022 will not be counted toward this total, so 2022 marks the beginning of any team’s five-year period. 

After the first two picks have been determined, the rest of the field will be slotted in order of where they finished in the standings. This ensures that the team with the worst record cannot fall any further than third. 

NHL Draft lottery odds 2022

Here is how the NHL lottery odds system is broken down. The rankings are determined by going backward in the standings, so the team that finishes worst is first. 

The Blue Jackets own the Blackhawks’ 2022 first-round pick as a part of the Seth Jones trade to Chicago, so they could receive the No. 1 pick courtesy of the Blackhawks’ finish. 

Montreal Canadiens 18.5%
Arizona Coyotes 13.5%
Seattle Kraken 11.5%
Philadelphia Flyers 9.5%
New Jersey Devils 8.5%
Columbus Blue Jackets (via Chicago Blackhawks) 7.5%
Ottawa Senators 6.5%
Detroit Red Wings 6.0%
Buffalo Sabres 5.0%
Anaheim Ducks 3.5%
San Jose Sharks 3.5%

What team has selected first overall in the past?

This will be the 60th draft in the history of the NHL. The draft was first created for the 1963 NHL season.

The Canadiens have made the most No. 1 picks with five. There are eight teams that have never received the top pick in the draft — the Ducks, Canucks, Wild, Hurricanes, Predators, Sharks, Flames, and Kraken. Only the Ducks, Sharks, and Kraken can earn the No. 1 pick in 2022. 

Here is a look at which teams got the No. 1 picks from the last 10 drafts and who they selected. 

  • 2021: Owen Power (BUF)
  • 2020: Alexis Lafrenière (NYR)
  • 2019: Jack Hughes (NJD)
  • 2018: Rasmus Dahlin (BUF)
  • 2017: Nico Hischier (NJD)
  • 2016: Auston Matthews (TOR)
  • 2015: Connor McDavid (EDM)
  • 2014: Nathan MacKinnon (COL)
  • 2013: Aaron Ekblad (FLA)
  • 2012: Nail Yakupov (EDM)
Facebook Comments Box